Tech Stuff

As I have mentioned before, I have a love of keyboards and mice. I am always on the lookout for the newest and best I can find. We were at Future Shop the other day and I saw this gorgeous keyboard. It had a lovely design and all the features I like – especially the ability to flip through songs and pause from the keyboard. I like to play games and I don’t want to have to go to iTunes to change the song. The first thing I noticed was that the keys for controlling music did not work with iTunes. In order to get it to work it meant that I had to use the mini-player and always have it active. It was annoying but I could deal with it. The next thing I noticed was the deal-breaker. I don’t know if any of you noticed but that keyboard is lacking something. Can you see it? The freaking keyboard didn’t have a number pad! I simply cannot live without a number pad. So, it goes back.

The newest thing I have tried using is the Genius feature in iTunes. It is very simple to use and it allows you to (re)discover music in your iTunes library. I have over 3000 songs and sometimes I don’t listen to all of the tracks on a new disc I download. Basically, you pick a song in your library and click the ‘Genius’ button which will pick similar songs. In the last 2 weeks I have discovered songs I never listened to and rediscovered songs I have not listened to in years. I am loving this feature and I urge everyone to try it out.

Google, ahhh, google! I love Google. I use Gmail, Google Reader, Google calendar and Google docs on occassion. I have things set up so that my personal calendar and my work calendar all sync, automatically, with my blackberry. I have also been using a desktop calendar in the Windows sidebar which shows upcoming appointments. It completely rocks!

Published in: on March 11, 2009 at 12:09 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2009/03/11/tech-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Who cares about more techno-toys when spring is on the horizon and every red-blooded butch’s heart dreams of a Jeep with a soft top? I need a convertible and plan to find a way too get one by the time my sight returns to normal.


Leave a Reply

