Cloth Grocery Bags

I have noticed lately that I have not been as vigilant in bringing my cloth bags to the grocery store. I was doing really well throughout the winter and sprint but for some reason I don’t seem to remember them anymore. Part of the problem is that I don’t know where they are. I am sure Deb has put them away never to be found again.

I don’t think it is just us though with regard to forgetting the cloth bags. At Save-On today I noticed that only 1 person I saw had a cloth bag. I am not sure what is happening with the cloth bag movement. Perhaps economic concerns have supplanted the green bandwagon. Or maybe people don’t really see the benefit of using cloth bags versus the energy and thought required to bring them to the store.

I think until grocery stores charge an exorbitant amount for bags we will continue to use plastic. It is easier, cleaner and many people re-use those bags.

Any thoughts? Did you use cloth bags? Are you still using them or do you forget them like me?

PS: Don’t tell the Our Green Year People!!!

Published in: on August 16, 2009 at 9:30 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2009/08/16/cloth-grocery-bags/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I find it a lot easier to use cloth bags now that I have a car. I just leave them in the trunk and they are with me whenever I need them. Back when I took the bus everywhere, I’d have to make a point of remembering to bring cloth bags with me when I left in the morning if I were going to be going to the grocery store at any point that day.

    The irony, of course, is that I’m doing more damage to the environment by driving the car than I’m helping by using cloth bags.

  2. I usually remember 98% of the time. Yeah, if you have a car, it’s easier because you can keep them in the car. I also carry a backpack everywhere with me and use that instead of plastic bags, and if I know I’m going to be doing any shopping, I have room enough to put cloth bags in the backpack.

  3. We use cloth bags for grocery shopping 95% of the time, I’d say. We have at least a dozen of them, so it’s easy to stash them in a bag or bike bag or whatever. I also made some mesh drawstring produce bags to avoid getting the clear plastic bags for apples & oranges, etc.

    One thing I’d like to do more is remember to bring them when I go shopping at drugstores or clothing stores…

  4. I usually remember to bring however many cloth bags I need for the shopping I’m doing. If I forget, it gives me pause as to whether I really need to go to the store right then. We wash ours periodically so they don’t get disgusting, which of course they can.

    We reuse plastic bags for fruit and vegetables until they get too beat up or dirty. Lisa’s mesh bags are a good idea that we should consider.


Leave a Reply

