Welcome to Hell

Well we have been here two nights now and we are on our second full day. It has been worse than I imagined it could be. Here are the highlights (or lowlights) to date:

1. My mother had to tell the story to her gardener (again) about how we would go backpacking. This of course is the infamous story where I refused to go any further and was left before a fork in the path. I got to the fork evenutally (I was maybe 10 or 11) and I went the wrong way. She thinks this was hysterical. I did ask “who leaves a kid at a fork in the path?” I got no response. Then it went on from there. The experience of being left in the backcountry and not knowing which way to go likely led to me having severe abandonment issues my entire life. What is really disturbing is she finds this funny.

2. My sister is so angry. She is stuck looking after her ailing husband who has had a stroke and seems to have lost most of his cognitive functioning. She storms around the house because he pisses her off because he is very inconsiderate. Well, newsflash, he was always inconsiderate why would he change after a stroke? It would only get worse.

3. The best comment so far is that we use more toilet paper because our asses are bigger.

I have to cut this short because I am being watched as usual. Thankfully we go home tomorrow.

I did manage to fix my sister’s b0rked (h/t to Dr. Beth for the word, it is such a great word!!) laptop.

Published in: on September 13, 2009 at 1:01 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/welcome-to-hell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My mom does something similar:

    She makes a joke at my expense, laughs at it, I tell her it’s not funny, then she accuses ME of not having a sense of humour! WTF???????

    She STILL does it and it STILL pisses me off.

    I’m sorry you’re having a shitty time. Safe travels home!

  2. Yes, safe travels home. My thoughts are with you at this difficult time.

  3. I agree – that is disturbing that she would find something that was clearly very traumatic to be funny. I don’t understand people sometimes.

    On a happier note, I’m glad you are enjoying the word “b0rked.” The moment I first heard it, I knew it was a word I would use often and with relish!

    • Wandering Coyote, your mother must be on crack. You are one of the funniest people I (virtually) know.


Leave a Reply

