I need some calm…

Everything has been so hectic since I got out of the hospital. I have been inundated with things to do at work, deadlines to meet etc. It feels like I have barely had time to breathe let alone relax for 5 minutes. I am hoping that now the last of the work things are done until the new year I can breathe. I need some time to catch my breath and continue to recover from my earlier hospitalization.

It has also become apparent that I need to learn to deal with my mother better. I keep seeking her approval and she keeps shooting me down. I think I was right the day I told her, through many tears, that she would only be proud of me when I weighed 125 pounds. I should have kept that understanding rather than thinking one of my accomplishments might earn me the acceptance I crave. So, I will be seeing a counsellor in the new year as I need to cope better with my mother. Unlike Deb who would just cut her out I cannot do that or let me re-phrase – I won’t do that. All this means I need to deal with her differently so that I don’t set myself up for the fat hatred that comes my way.

I feel like I have been a rabbit in a wheel. I desperately want some quiet time to just listen music and play computer games. Part of the reason I have not had that time lately is that I need to sleep for at least 12 hours in order to function. With only 12 hours left in the day for everything else there is no time left over for self-care. I am done work on Wednesday until January 4. I intend to do a lot of sleeping, a lot of tv watching and I hope a lot of listening to music.

PS Deb and Angelina – thank you so much for today. I appreciate and love you both!

Published in: on December 21, 2009 at 10:17 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2009/12/21/i-need-some-calm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey there! I’m so glad you’ve decided to get help learning to cope differently with your mom. I think it’s going to be so good for you, and I hope you find a good counselor you get along with and can connect easily with. This will be so worth it in the end! I’m rooting for you!!!

  2. […] the week from hell. My sister was an asshole and yelled and screamed at me on the phone. Then my mother made one of her damaging comments which upset me. I have also blogged about how my mother wants a […]


Leave a Reply

