The new Car Stereo Saga

I got this great Kenwood car stereo with GPS for Christmas. It would seem that buying a car stereo is not for the faint of heart and can be really hard on the bank account. At first glance, it seems that they can do anything – they have bluetooth, sirius satellite radio and they will play iPods. What they don’t tell you is that if you want your deck to all of those things you have to buy other ‘parts.’ As I discovered today they may or may not have them in stock.

I wanted bluetooth so I needed the bluetooth module – not in stock. I needed 2 pieces for the Sirius Sattelite Radio – another 2 pieces and you guessed it – not in stock. Then I find out you can get some kind of fancy rear view camera that will allow you to see what is behind you and also not in stock.

So they installed the deck. The GPS worked really well. It took a bit to figure out how to get the radio to work. I wouldn’t be able to try the iPod until I got home. Once home I plugged the iPod in. It recognized it and it looked all good. Except for one thing – there is no sound. So I call the store back and they say I need another cord. Should have guessed. Deb was still there so she brought it home. I tried it and it didn’t work. So I checked the type of cord needed and he had sent me the wrong cord. At this point I give up for the day.

So, at the end of the day and lots of dollars I am only slightly ahead. I have a GPS that works. I cannot pick up any AM Stations – not sure why. In short, I suspect there are a few more trips to that store for me to get it all working. Sigh…

Published in: on January 3, 2010 at 7:10 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/the-new-car-stereo-saga/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] *You can read the stereo saga here. […]


Leave a Reply

