My Bizarre Commute Home

I commute abut 45 minutes (90 km round trip) each way to work. Most days are uneventful except Tuesday morning when the traffic is bad and Thursday evenings when the traffic is bad going home. Other than that because I commute at odd times I really don’t have a lot to complain about since I am going from Maple Ridge to Vancouver everyday. I do not have to go very far into Vancouver, only about 5 minutes off the highway. It is way better when I used to commute to downtown Vancouver everyday. It was only another 8 km or so but time wise it took about 30 minutes.

I started out a little late today because I had to get gas. I got onto Highway 1 at Hastings. It always slows a little when you approach the construction area where they have narrowed the lanes. I made it through there and then got to just after 12th Ave and things ground to a halt. I got just past Willingdon and there was a person supposedly directing traffic around his damaged car. You could see that he had rear-ended someone. He was in the middle lane. He was flailing his arms around trying to get people in the middle lane to go to either side of him. The thing is he did not have a clue about how to direct traffic. Plus he was wearing reflective material on his coat so at first glance you would think he was a member of law enforcement. Once you got closer it became apparent that he belonged to the idiot brigade. I was fairly sure he was going to cause another accident because people were looking at him trying to figure out what he was doing. There was not a police car or a tow truck insight, so I called 9-1-1 on my hands-free phone. The RCMP were not aware that there had been an accident.

I carried on. Traffic was pretty good until we got close to Brunette where it quite often backs up a little. I was contending with a very heavy rainfall – bordering on torrential. At times there was so much water it was hard to see what was in front of you. It was one of those weird rain storms where the sun is shining, most of the sky is black and there are weird reflections everywhere. There was a rainbow, several of them, I even saw a double rainbow. I took this picture at the entrance to the Mary Hill Bypass*.

Rainbows!

I carried on. For those of you who have never driven the Mary Hill Bypass in the rain or the dark it sucks. I am not sure what it is worse/different going east than west but it is. There are lots of turns plus it is not lit. At night, in the rain, it can be almost impossible to discern the lines. Tonight with all the rain, huge puddles formed making it difficult to maintain control of the car. I did eventually make it home but it was not easy today!

*Yes I was stopped for those of you who are curious!

Published in: on March 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/03/16/my-bizarre-commute-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

