What I Learned

I promise this is the last driving theme blog for a while anyway! Having watched 2 seasons of Canada’s Worst Driver I thought I would talk about the things I learned.

1. I am recognizing when I am distracted when I am driving. I am trying to minimize the distractions in my car. I am trying to do the things I need to do, like changing the track, until it is safe to do so. I never texted or emailed in my car so that was never an issue. I have a hands-free bluetooth setup and I only need press a button. If anything I am way more aware now.

2. I am trying to slow down. I am a speeder. I am not outrageous but I am a good 10% over the limit all the time. On the back way (our shortcut to the Pitt River Bridge) I am very bad. The speed limits on those roads are 50 and 60 km/h yet I routinely go between 70 and 90. If I ever get caught it is going to be a whopping ticket! I am also aware of the fact that should I have to avoid something I could be in trouble.

3. Hands on the wheel – sometimes I would drive with one hand. I am trying to keep both hands on the wheel at 3 and 9 as they recommend. This is hard for me because I was taught to have them at 10 and 2. I can’t seem to turn the way they recommend. I still turn hand over hand.

4. I am trying hard not to freak out at other drivers’ bonehead maneuvers. I have been known to swear up a storm while driving I had already stopped that behaviour quite some time ago and that decision has been confirmed.

5. The one thing they talk about constantly is to look where you want to go. I really got to put that into practice today when I was on the Port Mann bridge in the pouring, driving rain. Driving in conditions like that freak me out. Today, however,  was able to look where I wanted to go and I was much calmer.

Overall I have to say that I learned things about driving that I had not really thought about. I think the best bit of driving advice I ever got was from Dad. He said to always drive 5 cars – the one in front of you, the one behind you, the ones on either side and your own. My addition to that is to always think of the most boneheaded thing someone can do in a situation and you will not often be disappointed.

Published in: on March 29, 2010 at 10:02 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/03/29/what-i-learned/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. When did they change it to 9 and 3? I was taught to have my hands at 10 and 2 as well. Why is 9 and 3 considered better?

    I also turn hand over hand – though I was taught that it’s not the correct way, it just feels natural to do it like that.

    • I don’t know. I learned 10 and 2 as well. Watch a couple of episodes and they will talk about it.

  2. They changed it to 9 and 3 because of the airbags. If you have your hands at 10 and 2 and the airbag deploys it will force your hands to hit you in your face and break bones. (Whether it is bones in your hands or face – or both – I’m not sure.)


Leave a Reply

