I am so done with PCs

I wanted to give my old PC away but it had some data on it that I wanted to retrieve. So we went to fire it up last Saturday and nothing came up so I asked Angelina to take it into the local computer shop. I had taken that computer there before and I had found their service to be good and prices to be alright. They said it would be ready in 4-5 days.

On Thursday, day 4, I called. I had been used to receiving very good service from this shop and thought it odd that I had not heard from them. I ended up in this bizarre exchange with a somewhat robotic-like talking head (RLTH):

Me:    Hi, it’s me calling I am wondering what’s up with my computer?
RLTH:    We haven’t diagnosed it yet.
Me:    How come? It’s been there for 4 days.
RLTH:    We have been hit with a lot of priority machines which moves others behind.
Me:    What? My machine has been there for 4 days that hardly seems fair.
RLTH:    Well if you want you can pay an extra $20 and your machine will become a priority machine.
Me:    What? You want me to pay an extra $20 after my computer has been sitting there for 4 days?
RLTH:    Yes, if you want it to be a priority machine.
Me:     (feeling like I am caught in an anti-service loop I ask) How many more machines are in front of mine?
RLTH:    About 5.
Me:     So feasibly you will have looked at my machine by tomorrow then?
RLTH:    Unless more priority machines come in. We can bump your machine up to a priority machine if you want to pay additional $20.
Me:    No I am not going to pay $20 more after it has already been sitting there for 4 days. Call me when you know what is wrong with it.
RLTH: I will. Have a nice day.

I was infuriated! How could they offer such horrific service! Stay tuned for part 2.

Published in: on May 2, 2010 at 11:31 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/i-am-so-done-with-pcs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, that is unbelievable. Instead of “priority machines,” why don’t they call it what our really is: “people who were willing to bribe us to jump the queue”?

  2. I’d take it back and bring it somewhere else for diagnosis. Or just take out the hard drive and put it in a USB enclosure, moving files from that.


Leave a Reply

