Doing something new

I had to give a speech tonight for work. It was only a 3-5 minute thing. I have not done much public speaking so tonight was really one of my first opportunities to give a speech. In the past I have avoided public speaking for many reasons. One of the main reasons, of course was, self-confidence. My mother had also done a number on my self-esteem because of my weight. She once inferred that I did not get a job because I would have contact with the public. This was among the many negative messages my mother gave me as I was growing up. Most of all she said I would never be successful because I was fat. She can eat her words today because I gave an amazing speech that was powerful and passionate which, compelled some people to connect with our organization.

Published in: on June 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/doing-something-new/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Kudos to you!

  2. That is awesome! Eventually, we have to just tell that mother – internally, not necessarily to their faces! – to just fuck off! You are your own woman now!


Leave a Reply

