Rant – the Heatwave Edition

I hate the heat. It was 34 freaking degrees in Vancouver. To make it worse our office is not symmetrical when it comes to heat and cooling. Some of the rooms get way too much and others don’t get enough. What this means is that in the winter I freeze because everyone is hot and in the summer I roast because everyone else is freezing. I have a fan and a space heater but today was really bad. It was 26 degrees in my office and just about as warm in the common area so I kept going and turning it back on. I fear it is going to be a very long summer.

My mother is coming to visit. I told her in an email that I picked up a really nice prime rib to put on the bbq. I was told today that she does not like prime rib that it was my father who liked it and in fact, just seeing it on a plate ‘nauseated’ her because of all the fat. She does concede that it is the fat that makes the roast so good but she can’t stand it Unreal. I cannot win. Thank goodness I told her beforehand. It would have been really gross if she had puked on her plate.

Still on the mother unit. When we were kids my mother used to say; “If I had it to do over again I would raise dogs.” Over the years, like any kids, my sister (the raving lunatic) and me have reminded her of this statement. The other day she was telling me that she is not really a dog person. I challenged her on this pointing out that she has always had a dog and reminding her of her oft said words. The next day when I called her she laid into me about ‘constantly’ throwing this up in her face and why couldn’t we (me and the sister unit) remember the good things she said. Then she said, which is really indicative of her, “I haven’t felt like that in a long time.” Then, to add insult to injury she tells me that she never brings up things from the past. I calmly informed her that no one was innocent when it comes to bringing up crap from the past. She told me the next day that she had said the same thing to my sister about ‘that’ statement and that she yelled and screamed at her and hung up on her. I resisted the urge to point out the contrast in reactions between me (who apologized) and my sister who freaked. She went on to comment about how the sister unit is ‘just like that.’ Again I resisted.

Of course what is a rant without one about driving. I need an answer to one thing. Why is it that people pull in front of you and then don’t do the speed limit? This usually happens in the left-hand line and on the Mary Hill bypass. Today there was a semi beside me when another car pulled in front of me. They both basically boxed me in all the way to the highway. I got caught at a light but then caught up to them again. What a freaking pain in the ass.

If anyone has any interesting or sarcastic insights about the pressing issues in my rant have at it in the comments!

Published in: on July 7, 2010 at 8:37 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/rant-the-heatwave-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] cooked the prime rib yesterday that my mother did not want when she came. We had a friend over for dinner. It turned out […]


Leave a Reply

