Review of iPad and the Apple Magic Trackpad

Regular readers (all 8 of you) know that I purchased an iPad a couple of weeks ago. While I was pretty sure I was going to like it and find lots of uses for it I was not prepared to love the iPad.

I decided that I was not going to take it to work with me. I didn’t see the need to lug it back and forth until I saw the calendar application. It is one of the most beautiful computer applications I have ever seen. I now use the iPad exclusively for scheduling. I love all the different views and the ease of entering appointments. It is a much nicer application than the one for the iPhone.

I love reading books on it. Making the page sepia and making the font bigger makes it really nice to read on. I am a little disappointed with the selection of books in the app store but I am sure that will change over time. I went looking for vintage John Irving but there was none. I also love the fact that you can download a sample of a book. I don’t know how many times I have bought a book only to discover that I can’t stand the author’s style or the story is boring. This feature is an excellent way to find books you actually want to read.

Games on the iPad are an amazing experience as well. I love the tapping actions of games like Plants vs Zombies. I am now playing Sally’s Salon and I downloaded Farm Frenzy – I can’t wait! I have also played some word games like Text Twist as well.

Hands down my favourite app though is Qrank. It is a daily quiz of 15 questions. It has become an addiction at my house. Some of the questions are based on current events which, makes it much more interesting.

Now onto the Magic Trackpad. I ordered it as soon as it came out. I love the trackpad on my MacBook Pro. I find it very intuitive and fast. I could not wait to attach the trackpad to my iMac at work. As soon as I started using it hated it. I found it slow. It turns out that I am much faster with a mouse than I am with a trackpad. I tried it for 2 days until I realized that I was avoiding using the computer because of the trackpad.

I have to say that I am shocked by this realization. I thought for sure I would completely love it. I am not sure why I like the trackpad on the MBP but not the Magic Trackpad. The only thing I can come up with is that the trackpad is small on the MBP and the proximity is close. Deb is now trying out the Trackpad to see if it works for her.

Published in: on August 7, 2010 at 6:59 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/review-of-ipad-and-the-apple-magic-trackpad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

