Childhood

Me at about 2

I had a very short childhood. By the time I was 7 I was a child with adult responsibilities. I was cooking dinner, helping to keep the house clean and looking after my little sister. I think I was about 2 or 3 in this picture and it pretty much sums up who I am.

I definitely liked being a girl! I am actually quite feminine. I have actually been exploring my feminine side in the last several years. When I began to embrace my lesbianism I threw my femininity out the door. I never wore make-up outside of my teen years and I still don’t. However, I have been wearing more dresses and using nail polish. I am wearing more jewelry like my new white gold bangles which completely adore!

The biggest thing this picture shows is my great reluctance to get my hands dirty! I find it fascinating that personality preferences like this are set in early childhood. It certainly begs the question about how much of our behaviour is nature vs nurture. There is no way my parents could have trained me to be this way so quickly. Certainly my younger sister is much different. She used to get filthy as a child. Meanwhile, I would want her to play ‘school’ where I could be her teacher. That never worked out so well for me.

Oh, and for the record, I still do not like to get my hands dirty!

Published in: on August 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/childhood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

