Dispatches from the Swamp – The I feel ripped off edition

First off I will give you the pet updates. Molly is doing much, much better. She is coughing much less. We did not have to use the narcotic cough syrup. I was reluctant to use it as it could depress her breathing which would have been dangerous at her age.

Bella did so well at the vet. She is now on her medication and will have her re-check in 3 weeks. At that point we will do another blood test to see if she is on the right amount of medication. She is really coping well with being pilled too.

So now for the ripped off part. I was driving home the other day and I saw a sign for “Art in the Swamp.” I am sure they must have gotten the idea from my blog!

In other news, I have been finding the humidity completely oppressive the last week. I come downstairs after my shower and I begin to sweat. Going out to do errands is also a sweaty adventure. I am sure it will be better soon.

Next week project ‘drain the swamp’ will begin. Our engineer neighbour drained his similar lot and he has ideas for ours. We will have 2 ponds when he is done. There will be a pond at the south-east corner of the front of the lot. That will drain the water from under the house. Then there will be another pond in the middle of the backyard, close to the eastern edge of the fence line. This will drain the septic field. The back half will then just be drained into the swamp at the far back of the lot. I am hoping and praying this works.

Published in: on September 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/09/18/dispatches-from-the-swamp-the-i-feel-ripped-off-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. is that the German guy from the house that I liked?

    • Yes. His lot is great now!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Um………septic field drain? Or just the water from the top layer of what lies above the septic field???

    • Drain the water from the area so the water that goes into the septic has somewhere to drain. In the winter, we need to have the tank sucked out twice and usually it is just because it is full of water. Hopefully this will solve the problem.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Ah! Gotcha!


Leave a Reply

