Driving under the Influence of Alcohol

Recently, BC has changed the laws around drinking and driving. Specifically they have lowered the amount of alcohol from .08 to .05 BAC. The complaints focus around the fact that police can now deliver alcohol related consequences at the road. According to the Province of BC, drivers at .05 BAC level are 7 times more likely to be in a fatal crash. Up until this legislation was introduced and across most jurisdictions the limit is still .08! This is a recipe for disaster and more deaths from drunk driving.

I believe no one should be allowed to drive with alcohol in their systems. Here are some of my reasons:

1. It is very difficult for people to gauge how much alcohol they can consume and still drive safely. Metabolizing alcohol is such an individual thing. It can depend on body size, food consumed, the type of alcohol and individual metabolism. Unless you know, scientifically how you, personally, metabolize alcohol in any situation, none is safe.
2. Quite often a blood alcohol level can continue to rise long after someone has stopped drinking. Someone could finish a drink, get behind the wheel and they can continue to become more intoxicated.
3. We drive at high speeds. Conditions can change in an instant. There is so much information coming at the average driver that it takes one’s full capacity and attention to respond to the road. Even being tired can impede one’s reactions. How much more can alcohol affect reaction times?

I think the police should have the right to take dangerous or potentially dangerous drivers off the road. If you are blowing .05, your BAC level could still be climbing. Knowing that these drivers are 7 times more likely to be in a fatal crash, I am happy they are off the road.

I have never driven after consuming alcohol. I had long stopped drinking alcohol as I didn’t like how it made me feel. The one time I did go out and drink was when I finished my Master of Arts degree. We took transit and a cab home. I just don’t see any reason why people need to drink and drive. If you are going to drink don’t take the car or have a designated driver. It is not a difficult concept.

Published in: on October 21, 2010 at 7:57 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/driving-under-the-influence-of-alcohol/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I never drink if I have my car because I know that sometimes I can really feel even one drink (I’m only 5 ft tall, remember!). Sometimes when I have a single drink I won’t feel it at all, but I never know which way it will go, so to me it’s just safer not to have any alcohol when I’m the one driving. And you wouldn’t believe how much flack I get from people about this: “You can have just ONE glass of wine!” It’s like I’m personally insulting them by not having a drink. I wonder if now that the warning level of 0.05 has these much stiffer penalties, people will stop bugging me about not wanting to have a drink when I’m out with my car?


Leave a Reply

