What is wrong with people on our roads?

There is something about the rain that makes some drivers completely and utterly stunned in Vancouver. Between the heavy snowfall warning and the rain it seemed like people forget how to drive. Seriously, what the hell happens in their little heads when they almost kill someone or me!

I am going to get a little geographical here so those of you not living in the rain forest are free to skip over it. Anyway, I was driving up Hastings Street, going to the highway. I was in the right-hand lane and some asshole, who was in the centre lane wanted to get into my lane. What was his solution? Why he just moves over. No signal. No shoulder check. Just. Move. Over. I have to slam on the brakes and lay on the horn. So, what did the asshole do? Why he went back into the centre line. We proceed a little further and he does it again! Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

So fast-forward about 2 km and now I am on the #1 heading east. I was just past the Grandview on-ramp when there was an entitled idiot trying to get out from behind someone who was moving slow. So, what does he do? He turns on his hazard lights and cuts me off. I was so stunned I couldn’t even honk!

Like negative things, idiots also appear to come in threes. I had just gotten on to Old Dewdney Trunk road. It was dark and raining and there are no streetlights. So what does idiot #3 do? He passes like 5 cars on a double solid yellow line!! I later observed passing a bunch more vehicles further up the road. What part of driving for the conditions and obeying lines on the road did this freak not understand?

I really, really, really wish I did not have to commute!

Published in: on January 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/what-is-wrong-with-people-on-our-roads/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi there!

    I’m a cab driver in the UK, and I’d like to assure you that this behaviour isn’t restricted to Vancouver. People here are just as stupid, I’m afraid. 😦

  2. Decent transit to Van from your place would be fabulous for you!


Leave a Reply

