I write letters….

Dear Canada Safeway:

I have a confession to make. I am addicted to your Ambrosia from the deli. Eating it is a heavenly experience; the subtle creamy texture with soft marshmallows and fruit is divine. I love squishing the mini marshmallows through my teeth as I savour the flavour of this delicacy.

There is a problem though and it is a big one. You see the only way to buy your Ambrosia is in plastic containers. Now, this would not be an insurmountable issue if one could simply bring in the containers to re-use them. I posed this question to my friendly Safeway deli clerk and she said it was not possible. Apparently, your company is more concerned about possible cross-contamination and then someone getting sick. I said what if I was prepared to sign a release saying that I wouldn’t sue you if I got sick because I used my own container. She said no such thing existed.

So, Safeway, it would appear we have a conundrum. I want to buy your product but I don’t want to buy it in the containers you sell it. I am sure you are aware of the scourge of plastic in our society. If you believe it is not possible to refill containers, why don’t you look at changing your packaging all together? Does it all have to be plastic? You have an opportunity here to be a real leader. What about switching to wax lined cardboard? I am sure there are many more options than plastic.

I am hoping that my letter will prompt a change to your corporate packaging. I know this won’t happen immediately but I am hoping it will happen. I will not be purchasing your Ambrosia forever in plastic. Here is the thing – Safeway is not the closest grocery store to my house so if I don’t go to Safeway because of your Ambrosia then, I am likely to take my shopping dollars elsewhere.

I would like to know your opinion on the issue of plastic in your packaging. Are there plans afoot to reduce the amount of it in your deli? Don’t forget, this is a chance for you to show good corporate leadership. Also, please remember: plastic is forever.

Sincerely,

 

Shihtzustaff
From the Swamp

Published in: on January 17, 2011 at 5:44 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/i-write-letters%e2%80%a6-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have no idea what Ambrosia is, but good for you!

    I meant to share this link with you and finally remembered:
    http://cleanbinproject.com/

    The Royal City Farmer’s Market is hosting The Clean Bin Project Screening in New West on Feb 5, I’ll send you an invite on FB

  2. What is ambrosia?!
    Good for you!
    Erika


Leave a Reply

