Evernote

I have been trying to find a program that I can use easily across all of my devices to capture information that I want to keep or look at later. I find things in twitter and blogs that I find interesting and I want to keep. I also don’t want to spend a lot of time getting the information in to the program. I also needed something that would sync seamlessly across all of my computers and my iDevices.

I looked at Circus Ponies Notebook but I couldn’t really figure it out. I tried Yojimbo but there was no way to sync easily. I would have had to put a save file into Dropbox and always remember to close it on each computer. I could not figure out a way to sync the iPad version with the information on my computers. So Yojimbo was out. I tried using the notebook feature in MS Word but I had the same syncing issues. Plus there was no real easy way to get information into the file from the iPad.

Enter Evernote. I was skeptical at first. However, very quickly I could see the value of the program. It is easy to start a new note. You simply click, add the information you want and it syncs with the cloud. On the iPad, which is where I need a program like this the most, it is so easy. I am able to copy a link, use fast-switching, tap to create a new note, paste what I want to save, click save and I am done. The other day I think I saved about 10 things in under 15 minutes. I was later able to go in and organize the notes when I have time.

I also use Evernote to capture ideas for future blog postings, things I need to do for work and personal things. Although I have not done it yet, you can use Evernote to store receipts, user manuals and other images. You can set up separate notebooks for different purposes. Tagging notes and other things in Evernote is also very easy.

What makes Evernote even better is the fact that it is free. There is a premium, paid version that drops the ads and gives you some other features. The cost is minimal but I have no real intention of getting the premium edition at this point. I really like Evernote and it is definitely meeting my needs!

Published in: on February 11, 2011 at 10:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/evernote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

