Dispatches from the Swamp – the ‘we are in a sync loop’ edition

When I got a Mac I decided pretty quickly that I did not like iCal – the calendaring program that comes with OS X. Its interface is not very user-friendly and it lacks the ability to handle repeating to-dos. I came across BusyCal and I was hooked. The problem I had though was trying to get everything to sync across 3 Macs, an iPad and iPhone.

Busycal works best when all of the computers and devices are on the same LAN. Unfortunately, that is not the case with me. I also need to sync some information from a Google Calendar. Mobile Me can also be used to sync the calendars however, you have to be careful that you don’t end up with a sync loop. Apparently, I managed to do this by subscribing to the same Google calendar. I have to say that BusyCal has amazing technical support. Generally, they respond to questions within an hour. Plus they are very patient. I now have everything working properly.

My mother has been raving about this great Cuisinart coffee pot she bought that has a chamber for hot water. Basically, you keep it filled and turn it on when you want water. In less than 5 minutes, the water had boiled. Then you can just draw the water into the cup. It will accommodate any size of cup. I am very excited to have hot water on demand!

Now for some dog updates:

  • Sawyer seriously likes to play ‘silly bugger.’[1] Take this morning – he was barking like a maniac to go out. So I get out of bed and take him downstairs to let him out. He races and immediately goes to the wrong door. I go and get him and he runs to the back door. I follow, I open the door and he goes back up the stairs. Can you say ‘little bastard?’
  • Still on the little man, he seems to think that eating is akin to having his claws pulled out one by one. He seems to want to eat with an audience. Which is a complete and utter pain in the ass in a multi-dog house. We have to keep everyone else away while he tries to eat his food. What makes it worse is when he is in his place to eat he barks, cries and howls. He makes it sound like we are torturing him.
  • Everyone else is doing really well. Zoe was back sleeping with us for a bit. We can’t let her up in the bed at night because she tries to bite anyone who moves in her general direction. She slept in the laundry basket. Too cute! I promise to post new pics soon! We have such a great crew of dogs.

[1] Silly Bugger is a game in which you try to get a dog to do something like, oh, let’s say, out to pee. Instead of cooperating and going out the door, he runs away. When you try to get him, he stays just out of reach. Silly bugger is, hands down, the most annoying thing dogs do!

Published in: on February 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/dispatches-from-the-swamp-%e2%80%93-the-%e2%80%98we-are-in-a-sync-loop%e2%80%99-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

