Why oh why did we join a political party?

Last summer we got a call from a nice lady from the NDP. We agreed to meet with her and in the end we all joined the NDP that evening. As long-time supporters of the NDP, it made sense to us to finally join and support the party somehow. We now have an automatic deduction that comes out of our bank account and we never really gave it another thought.

Then came the provincial leadership and the apparently imminent federal election. Our phone does not stop ringing. We get 3 calls from everyone. Mike Farnsworth campaign calls – 3 times. Adrian Dix’s campaign calls 3 times. We had 9 calls last weekend telling us about the 2 local nominees for the federal election and where to go to cast a vote for a nominee.

Last week I got a call from the federal NDP campaign to make a donation. Apparently the federal wing of the party does not get money from the provincial wing. In the end, I was convinced to donate to the federal campaign as well.

I have to say, I am looking forward to casting a vote for the NDP leadership. I am not sure who I am going to vote for yet.

8:30 pm – and now I have received the Adrian Dix email telling me about the same event they phoned me about!

Published in: on March 13, 2011 at 4:38 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/why-oh-why-did-we-join-a-political-party/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Horgan, Horgan, Horgan!!! 🙂

    I don’t get many calls – actually none from the other candidates (seems strange; I’m a voting member even if I live on the Island) – but I get inundated with e-mails. I have complained, not just to the NDP, but to other groups like the HSUS too. Doesn’t help much as they just tell me I can “opt out” of their e-mails. I *like* receiving info., just hate all of the requests for donations.

    With the NDP, I simply give them a annual donation, not the monthly pre-authorized withdrawal, even though I used to be our constituency’s Membership Secretary and we were to push for the automated donations.


Leave a Reply

