I ask Questions…

1.     This is a serious question. I was driving home the other night and I came upon an RCMP officer attempting to get someone out of his truck. I couldn’t tell if the guy was intoxicated and was falling over as the officer was supporting his torso while his legs were still in the pedal area. It seemed to me that at any moment this guy could begin to fight back and the officer might be thrown into oncoming traffic. I immediately slowed down to a crawl but I wondered if I should have stopped to prevent him potentially being struck? Or assist him by calling 911 for more help? Does anyone know what a motorist should do in a situation like this? Does anyone know? What would you do?

2.     Are you a disappointed Canadian? I have been asking this questions all day and most people look at my like I am in idiot. Those of you who are politically aware or who happened to catch a newscast today would understand that question.[1] So, I have yet to find a disappointed Canadian. I ask: are you a disappointed Canadian?

3.     Was today ‘no signal light’ day? I have to say, I must have seen about 8 vehicles today weaving in and out of traffic and not signaling. It was absolutely craziness! Did anyone else notice this?


[1] When the federal government today Stephen Harper said he was disappointed and he knew that many Canadians are too.

Published in: on March 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/i-ask-questions%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nope, not a disappointed Canadian. I don’t ‘do’ the news anymore tho’ cuz it truly upsets me.

    I would be as confused as you about the RCMP situation. But, your question makes me so damned thankful for our gun laws.

    Lack of using a signal light almost send me over the deepend quite frankly. I’m a very cranky driver and everyone is truly in my way when I’m on the road.

  2. RE. #1: I have no idea what I’d do in that case, actually. I’d be curious to hear about what others think. It’s only natural to want to go to someone’s aid, but I wonder if you’d be just getting in the way and if it would be safe for you to have offered help. I don’t know…

  3. I am a disapointed Canadian, let me tell you why: I despise politics with a passion. A lot of issues and consequences that I don’t really understand are discussed, and I always fight to try and find some sort of clarity. Now I have to battle that again before we go to the polls.

    Honestly, it always feels to me like NO ONE is a good choice to vote for, which increases my stress about it all. Rest assured, I WILL vote, but indeed I am disapointed about being tossed into a mass of confusion, yet again!

  4. For #1, I think I would call 9-1-1 and tell them an officer was struggling with a motorist. At least then, they could send another officer to help if the sruggle continued.

    For #2, Yes, I’m disappointed that we are having YET ANOTHER election. Nothing is likely to change because neither party has enough support to win a majority and so we spend buckets of money (the 2008 election cost over 300 million dollars)for no result.

    I’m sure we could all suggest better ways for the government to spend 300 million dollars.

  5. I am not a disappointed Canadian. Voting is a privilege, not a chore. We have a bully at the top right now and he needs to go. Harper has not listened to Canadians, he rules in anger. And rule he does!

    Instead of griping that we have to go to the polls again, we need to truly see what we have at the helm right now, we need to look at what choices we have and sorry to say but we DO have options. A minority government with the Iggy at the helm would be a heck of a lot better than the angry bully we have now!

    Don’t let the pathetic conservative attack ads on Iggy work.

    sorry but I’m VERY passionate about this topic, I believe that Harper is changing my beloved country and I will not sit by and let him do it.

  6. Re the police question. I would not stop to offer assistance because another car pulling up could distract the officer and result in exactly the scenario you are trying to avoid. I might call 9-1-1, but probably not. The officer is trained to handle these cases, to get reluctant drivers out of cars, and to call for backup if he/she needs it.

    Re Harper’s comment. I am a disappointed Canadian but not quite for the reason Harper states. My disappointment is because we are going back to the polls (though I can think of a zillion things I’d prefer we spend the money on) but because we are going into yet another election where NONE of the party leaders inspire me to vote for their party. I predict another minority government that will be easily toppled and drag us (and our taxpayers’ dollars) back to the polls again within a short space of time. I will vote, because it is my duty and my right, and because I have always maintained that if you don’t vote then you don’t have a right to complain about the government.

  7. Re the police question. I would not stop to offer assistance because another car pulling up could distract the officer and result in exactly the scenario you are trying to avoid. I might call 9-1-1, but probably not. The officer is trained to handle these cases, to get reluctant drivers out of cars, and to call for backup if he/she needs it.

    Re Harper’s comment. I am a disappointed Canadian but not quite for the reason Harper states. My disappointment is NOT because we are going back to the polls (though I can think of a zillion things I’d prefer we spend the money on) but because we are going into yet another election where NONE of the party leaders inspire me to vote for their party. I predict another minority government that will be easily toppled and drag us (and our taxpayers’ dollars) back to the polls again within a short space of time. I will vote, because it is my duty and my right, and because I have always maintained that if you don’t vote then you don’t have a right to complain about the government.

  8. Oops – sorry Chris, somehow that published twice when I went back to edit my sentence by inserting the word NOT. LOL. Please remove the first response which for some reason didn’t delete itself!


Leave a Reply

