Dispatches from the Swamp – the ‘things I have learned’ edition

  • I learned today that when you mostly stop buying and therefore eating processed food you don’t spend as much money at Costco. It was rather interesting. The only food I walked out of there with today was chicken (boneless and skinless), vegetables and dairy products. I did buy Deb was some vegetarian spring rolls but that was it for processed food. I am not sure why we have gone off processed food but I have to believe it is a good thing.
  • I have loved being home with the dogs all week. It is going to be so hard to go back to work. The dogs loving have someone home with them all day. Piper has been close to me all week so that I could just reach down and pet her.
  • I hope re-entry next week is easy. I am out on Friday as I am having another big sedation dental appointment. I am getting several crowns.
  • I am heartened by the surge in popularity for the NDP. Maybe Ignatieff will be moving out of Stornoway. I will make my election predictions next week.
  • I read a great blog by Penmachine on voting. If he can research all the issues, figure out the party platforms and get out to vote while dying from cancer then you can vote too. With so many people struggling for the right to vote we must be grateful that we have the right to vote here in Canada.
Published in: on April 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/dispatches-from-the-swamp-%e2%80%93-the-%e2%80%98things-i-have-learned%e2%80%99-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yay for not eating processed foods! I’m trying to cut back, but it’s a tough thing to give up for the convenience factor. I’m just appalled at the sodium & sugar content of most processed stuff, though. We were at Costco today & spent an embarrassing amount. Too many convenience foods, but better than some trips. No pizza or chips. Got some organic pre-washed quinoa, which was awesome.

    We’re not going to renew our membership this year because I don’t think we’re really saving money when time & car bookings are factored in. Plus, we end up buying more big-name processed crap. Their selection of organics is pitiful & it’s hard to find things like unmedicated/free-range meats, wild fish, fair trade cocoa/coffee/tea. Plus, the overpackaging annoys me: there has to be a way to attach two jars of Nutella or pickles without shrink-wrapping them!

    Back to the topic of processed foods: have you ever read Michael Pollan’s “In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto”? He outlines a great rule to eat by: eat food, not too much, mostly plants. He defines ‘food’ as things that have five or fewer ingredients on the label. Here’s his site: http://michaelpollan.com/books/in-defense-of-food/

    • Oh yes, I read In “Defense of Food.” I also read the Omnivore’s Dilemma – which, in my opinion, was better than the other book. Personally, I am finding that I really want to eat real food these days. Food that started in its true form and that I prepared. We are eating way more vegetables than ever before. I am limited in what I can eat but I eat what I can. They do have to be cooked to death for me to eat them. Currently eggplant, baby pattypan squash, zucchini, opal squash and asparagus have been high on the list. I don’t worry too much about the organic part because ‘organic’ in many cases can actually be worse for the environment than commercially grown produce.


Leave a Reply

