This and that…

Many things are going through my head so welcome to the latest mish-mash post. Here we go, in no particular order:

  • What is up with play off hockey. Why are the fans so intense? As I drove to work today, I was listening to BC Almanac again, of course they had uber-Canuck fans on today to talk about how they are coping with the unanticipated game 7 of this series. These people are fucking insane! One woman called and said that her 12-year old son had gone on a hunger strike and he was not going to eat until the Canucks won again. Well, if history repeats itself, the kid might not eat until next October. Why do people get so worked up about hockey? Where is all that energy when it comes to social issues? To volunteering? To political engagement? Man if we could harness 1/10 of the energy that is directed towards the Vancouver Canucks we could solve homelessness and political apathy in a few days.
  • I don’t know about you but the idea of Jack Layton as the Leader of the Official Opposition makes me squee with delight! I would love it if Ignatieff had to move out of Stornoway and make way for Jack and Olivia. Layton has worked tirelessly as leader of the federal NDP and it is about time he reaps the rewards. I am glad that people are thinking it is time for a change in Ottawa. I am hoping that Harper is denied his majority – just like Dancing on the Stars you don’t get it if you don’t earn it.
  • I need to make some changes in my world. I want to get a handle on my anxiety so it does not rule my life. I want off the medications that are supposed to help manage it but don’t really seem to do the job. I am completely against going on any more medication. I am not sure what the changes will look like. Some of them I won’t be able to post here unless I do a private post. Mostly though the changes will centre on me taking back control and not letting other people/things control my world. I am tired of walking around with hunched shoulders and backaches because of stress. Now some of it I have no say over. My anxiety ramps up if my pain levels are too high. I am going to try to manage that a little differently as well. Again, not sure what it will look like but the goal is to get some peace back in my life. I want more time for me and with Deb and the dogs.
  • I loved being home last week with the dogs. You miss so many things when you are not here with them all day. They seem to bond more closely to me when I am here. As the week went on, I spent more and more time with Piper laying on my leg and Sawyer cuddled in. It was nice. It made my stress levels go down.

Anyone else out there thinking of making changes? Do you have any ideas for me of things that have worked for you around managing anxiety? Let me know in the comments!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/this-and-that%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m always thinking of making changes! Let me know if you want to bounce any ideas off me or if I can support you in any way!

  2. Yet here we are in MR, and you are still in Rossland! 🙂 🙂 Hmmmmm curiouser and curiouser.

  3. Hey you know changes are always a work in progress but you could look for a job that allows you to work at home or perhaps one that allows you to take a dog to work, that way it would help with stress levels all the time and you’d have your cuddly companions (or at least one of them) by your side.

    I’m fighting hard to become an artist, to think of myself as an artist and going against the grain to do something that really makes me happy. I know I’m taking a big gamble but the way I see it, if I don’t try I will really fail. Try not to allow others opinions of you to get in your way. They are road blocks sometimes, but you can get around road blocks.

    Besides you are resilliant tenatious woman, whaever you put your mind to, I’m sure you’ll manage to accomplish. Have faith.

    • Excuse the typos, I’m on my first coffee. 🙂


Leave a Reply

