The Plague

Both Deb and I have the virus from hell. I am so sick. It started yesterday with sneezing and a runny nose. As the day progressed, I began to run a fever and get dizzy. Every time I moved, I felt weak and my lungs hurt.

I rarely take sick days. I know that sounds odd coming from someone who lives with a chronic disease. The only time ulcerative colitis keeps me away from work is when I am really sick – sick enough to be hospitalized. Most mornings I feel like crap when I wake up. I am exhausted, sometimes in pain and always dragged out. But I get up, shower and go to work anyway. Most days I feel better once I get to the office.

My GP is quite often amazed that I continue to work. She tells me that most of her patients with IBD[1] do not work. I think if I didn’t work, I would go absolutely stark raving mad. I enjoy learning new things and taking on new challenges. Plus if one of us becomes unable to work we will need to change our lifestyle quite dramatically. At this point, if I didn’t have to work for monetary reasons I might change how much I work or start a consulting business.


[1] IBD is Inflammatory Bowel Disease. Crohn’s, ulcerative colitis and proctitis are all IBDs.

Published in: on May 19, 2011 at 6:09 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/the-plague/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I hope you all feel better soon. You are all troopers with all the health issues you have – you amaze me.


Leave a Reply

