Back on Land

We got up at 6 am so we could have time to shower and have some breakfast. We disembarked at around 7:45 am. It took us a while to find how to get out of the terminal, which was fine until we could no longer have a luggage cart and I was faced with trying to manage most of the luggage.

I have to say how pleased I am with how the cruise went with my mother. We have never spent this much time alone together ever. We discovered that we actually do get along quite well. My sister had predicted that my mother would be so tired of me after a week that she wouldn’t want to see me for a long time. Her prediction was dead wrong. My prediction hope was that we would be just fine without the additional emotional input my sister provides.

My mother was very pleased with how it went too. We actually spent some time building our relationship, which we had never done. We talked about a few painful things but it was well contained and respectful. She actually admitted she was wrong about my food intake and weight. This is a huge breakthrough for my mother and she finally sees that my food intake is low. She is hopeful that the endocrinologist I am seeing will be able to figure out the problem.

For the first time in my life, I have hope that I can have a relationship with mother. It is something we have never had. She used to say that she doesn’t understand me because I am so different from her. I think this bodes very well for the future. Now she wants to go to Hawaii and I am already looking forward to it!

Published in: on June 15, 2011 at 11:57 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/back-on-land/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

