Dispatches from the Swamp – the ‘my poor mother edition’

  • Yesterday morning Deb woke me up because my mother was on the phone in a panic. Apparently, some company in India had been calling her and telling her that her AVG free virus protection was not working. They were telling her that her computer was infected with a virus and it had ‘filled’ her hard drive. They told her that her computer would stop working imminently. The caller had her on the phone for over an hour and a half. They wanted her bank account information so they could take $200 to ‘fix’ her computer. When she told me all of this, I told her to turn off her computer and not to answer the phone. Today, I managed to connect to her computer through remote assistance and there was nothing wrong. I felt so bad for her. She was quite scared and upset. She said she didn’t give them her banking information, which is good. Unlike a lot of seniors, she at least has someone to call and get some help. I encouraged her to call the police but she said she was not up to it.
  • Today is day 3 of antibiotics and I am starting to feel a little better. Getting pneumonia is quite indicative of the state of my health. I am so fatigued, I feel as though I could sleep for a month. I have made some decisions, however, I can’t really say what those decisions are at this time.

 

 

 

Published in: on July 2, 2011 at 5:41 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/dispatches-from-the-swamp-%e2%80%93-the-%e2%80%98my-poor-mother-edition%e2%80%99/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s a dirty scam. I wonder who made that call. I hope they call me so I can tell them to go to hell in a hand basket. (purse)

  2. Definitely call the cops! God knows who else they’ve duped.


Leave a Reply

