Dispatches from the Swamp – the ‘feeling a bit better’

• I just started to watch SYTYCD Canada. We had been recording it since it started. I am not sure if it is just me but I rarely find that Tre or Jean-Marc have much to add to the commentary. Tre is too busy trying to like a cross between a Jamaican and Lil C; she does neither well. Jean-Marc’s main contribution continues to be to pump up the audience by praising the choreographers loudly. I would much rather listen to Luther ‘nasty situation’ Brown or Mary Murphy. I am not really sure why Tre and Jean-Marc remain as the anchor judges. Perhaps this is why they have been sending Mary Murphy up every week.
• The dancers on the US version of SYTYCD seem quite a bit stronger than the Canadian version this year. While the eliminations on the American version have been very difficult to predict, it is easy to figure out who should go home.
• The time off seems to be helping. Even though I was not officially done until last Thursday. Just not having to get up and be somewhere has made a big difference to my mood. My fatigue level has dropped – I am no longer sleeping until 1 or 2 in the afternoon. No longer being tired all the time helps with my anxiety level. Not having to drag myself somewhere everyday and not being sure how I am going to do it reduces my anxiety too. A less anxious Shihtzustaff is a very good thing.
• So we watched the first episode of True Blood last night. I have to say I didn’t get it. It did absolutely nothing for me. Am I missing something? Does it get better? Maybe I am not the target audience…
• All of the dogs are doing really well. Kiefer and Piper are going in to see the vet on Monday. We need to find out what is going on with Piper’s breathing and we think Kiefer has an eye infection.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/dispatches-from-the-swamp-%e2%80%93-the-%e2%80%98feeling-a-bit-better%e2%80%99/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Poor Keiffsie!

  2. We’ve been watching both current SYTYCD series from the start. The US top 20 were good. The Canadian top 22 were better overall. Now we’re at the point where we have to pare off the lesser ones, but this is still a very strong field. Two of the four couples in the bottom three were complete mistakes (and Jean-Marc knew it, thus his even louder exhortation to vote). No way Jordan and Shane should have been there. Jordan is top-four material.

    We predicted the US top four a while ago. Melanie and Sasha are just amazing. Marco too, and Tadd is just so suprising — a top four B boy!

    I agree about Jean-Marc. At least he makes sure the choreographers get mentioned (that’s been forgotten a few times on the US show). But mostly he doesn’t give very good critique. I disagree about Tre. I think she’s a good judge. I am glad that Mary has been there, but we’ve also had good guest judges, like Rex and (swoon) Nico Archambault.

    • Really? You thought the Canadians were better than the American group this year? I don’t at all. The American field was so much stronger in the routines they performed. Remember when they couldn’t vote someone out the first week?

      I have thought Tre was good in other seasons. What do you point to for this season?


Leave a Reply

