Music from The Swamp – the ‘David Francey’ editon

Welcome to what I hope will be a semi-regular feature here on Dispatches from The Swamp. I am passionate about music and I hope I can share some of the artists that make my heart sing!

David Francey

I was introduced to David Francey through a couple of sources. I first heard his song ‘Red-Winged Blackbird’ covered by James Keelaghan on the CBC. I immediately loved the song.[1] A couple of weeks later some friends of mine were over and they loved David Francey. While I really liked some of the songs I heard initially, it took until late last year before I started to discover some of the gems.

Francey is one of the few singers who still sings acapella. He has an amazing ability to build a song with just his voice. My absolute favourite is Torn Screen Door. The lyrics in this song are absolutely brilliant.

Here is a live version of Torn Screen Door:

Another stand out acapella song is the ‘Brakeman’s Daughter.’

Anyone who has ever had a school crush will immediately relate to ‘Broken Glass.’ Francey has an amazing ability to capture life’s moments in a way that listeners immediately relate to him. This is a live version. Francey is as amazing live as his studio recordings.

Enjoy!

 

 


[1] I was seriously mocked for liking this song!

Published in: on February 27, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/music-from-the-swamp-the-david-francey-editon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Davids music is one of a kind..”Broken Glass” is my favorite as it describes my heart when I see my wife!
    I fell in love with him in about 2001 at the Van. Folk Fest. He was a mainstafe performer for the first time and the hush over the audience when he played that song was awe inspiring, thousands of like minds all in the moment with him on stage!!1


Leave a Reply

