Music from the Swamp – the ‘playlist’ edition

As I may have mentioned a time or two, music is central to my self-care. It is how I escape the stress and anxiety that mark my life. I am really not fit to live with if I do not have time to listen to lots of music in my day. On the days I go to work, I have my 1.5+ hours in my car to listen to music and sing loudly. On the days I am home, I probably spend 3 hours listening to music while I have breakfast and spend time on the computer. In no particular order, are 5 songs that I am really relating to these days.

  1. Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Death to my Hometown’ – Bruce may be old but he is still able to capture the pulse of America in his music. He has done this in the past with songs like ‘My Hometown’ and ‘My City of Ruins’ after 9/11. He does not disappoint with his latest song. The premise of the song is that even though war has not come to America, its cities and towns have been decimated. He points out that no dictators have been crowned but that marauders and robber barons are to blame. It is a very powerful song.
2. From the new Sinead O’Connor album there are several songs I really love. The standout right now is the ‘Queen of Denmark.’ I love the anger in this song.
3. Since seeing Spirit of the West at the Commodore on St. Patrick’s day, I have become re-acquainted with their song ‘Unplugged.’ The song is about not wanting to become a burden to one’s spouse. As I get older this song really resonates. This is a live, ‘unplugged’ version:
4. I have featured David Francey before. I just keep finding songs I haven’t heard before that I really like. The latest one is the ‘Long Way Home.’ Canadian music at its finest if you ask me.
5. The Decemberists song ‘The Crane Wife 3’ is an amazing song to sing too. It really satisfies the singing need.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/music-from-the-swamp-the-playlist-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I suffer Stockholm Syndrome and love the four out of five songs I know on your list.


Leave a Reply

