Swamp Quote of the Day

Here at The Swamp, we heartily support same-sex marriage. In fact, we had one! On October 18, 2003, after the court decision and before the legislation, we got married. At the time we did it because we wanted to support the cause and be one more couple who took marriage vows. What we didn’t expect was that it would change our relationship so substantially. We are now family in the eyes of our friends, families, co-workers and our government.

Barack Obama endorsing same-sex marriage. It really shouldn’t be such a big deal in 2012 but it is monumental.

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”

Published in: on May 9, 2012 at 6:57 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/swamp-quote-of-the-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am in a same sex relationship and before I actually lived with this woman I would have agreed that we should have the same rights to be married legally. I do not feel this way anymore, in fact quite the opposite. This woman has no idea what it means to be in a relationship, we live together under the same roof, but I feel as though I live alone. I spend most of my time by myself because we do absolutely nothing together as a couple. She only wants me in her life when it is convenient for her, that doesn’t work for me. I don’t know how to get her to understand what I think about all of this, she doesn’t listen to a word I say. It has been very disappointing for me because she is the first woman I ever lived with, I thought it would be different. This person deceived me from the beginning, guess I should have opened my eyes years ago. This experience has colored my viewpoints about the entire issue of gay rights…I am jaded and I realize that, but right now that’s the way it is.

    • I am sorry you have had a bad experience. It does not mean that any same-sex relationship would be like yours. It really sounds like you need to get out of it and be with someone who wants to be with you. You deserve more.


Leave a Reply

