Dispatches from the Swamp – the ‘hello blog, I have missed you’ edition

 

It seems like life took over in July and things happened. Here are the updates:

 

  • Ruby went missing from the dikes in Maple Ridge on July 18th. We believe a wild animal took her as there has literally been no sign of her at all. We had Al from PetSearchers come with his bloodhound and the dog could not pick up her scent. Deb searched frantically for hours the day she went missing. She was in the water up to her chest and the rocks chewed her feet up. I think it will take months for them to heal. Al also waded the river and could not find any sign of her. We know of about 15 people who came down the next day to look for her. The brush down there is so heavy an animal could have been completely camouflaged and grab her. She is old and deaf and wouldn’t have heard anything coming. We have not given up. I am still checking the SPCA and Craigslist.
  • The only good thing that came out of Ruby going missing was that we helped to reunite another dog with its people. We were told about a dirty Shih Tzu at a mill. Deb went to look and discovered it was an apricot poodle. I posted an ad on Craigslist and the dog’s owners responded. It was their dog and they have since been reunited. One thing I learned through all of this is that most people cannot tell the difference between breeds.
  • My mother came to visit last weekend. It is interesting that when she is around us she seems to become helpless. I forgot to set up her coffee one morning and instead of making a pot herself she heated up the coffee from the day before. We have exactly the same coffee maker so it is not like she didn’t know how to do it. If something had to be put in the garbage she would either give it to one of us or put it on the lid of the can.
  • The other thing that struck me while my mother was here is her obsession with smoking. She spent most of her time outside, with her oxygen on, smoking and puffing ventolin. We went to the Fish House for dinner[1], as she loves Stanley Park. We were enjoying a lovely drive through the park and she kept asking when we were going to stop so she could have a cigarette. I was stressed as I had no idea how to get to the Fish House[2] and we were late for our reservation. Finally, I said to her: “I will not make you go into the restaurant for dinner without having a cigarette.’ Then, as soon as she was done eating she wanted to go. No chance for anyone to linger after dinner and maybe have dessert because she had to smoke. She has lost even more weight and if she gets pneumonia I think that will be the end.
  • Today, I am feeling so grateful for the dogs we have had in our lives. They have loved us unconditionally and taught us so much.


[1] It was absolutely horrible.

[2] I eventually had to go down a one-way street the wrong way.

Published in: on August 2, 2012 at 2:20 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shihtzustaff.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/dispatches-from-the-swamp-the-hello-blog-i-have-missed-you-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I remember reading on FB when your Ruby went missing and very sad to learn she never did return to you. I recently lost my dog to cancer and while that was difficult at least I got to say goodbye and be there for her. I am so sorry for your very great loss.


Leave a Reply

